The Struggle of Consistency

wpid-img_20150617_190014.jpg

I would love to be that 40-year-old mom of four who is physically fit and active. I am in my mid 20’s and I have been trying to be physically active. My only problem is the lack of consistency. You would see me work as hard as I can and extremely motivated to go to the gym for a week or less, then I fall off the wagon. I go back to eating whatever I want and watching Sex and the City Marathon all day instead of working out. This cycle of being on track and then losing my focus has been going on for years. I learned a few things as to why I keep falling off:

1. I restrict myself too much. When I say I am on a diet, I go on extremes. I eat salad, granola bar, and protein shake. Then I get depressed about it and end up bingeing.

2. I exhaust myself from working out too much. Again, another extreme. I go hard when I workout and I hurt myself from it. My body gives up on me.

3. I set unrealistic and short-term goals. “I want to lose 10 lbs. in a week.” Fitness gurus are right when they say being physically fit is a lifestyle change. Instead of thinking about my health 10 years from now, I focus too much on how I want to look for my next trip to the beach or for an upcoming event. That’s definitely a wrong way of thinking.

I just started to become active again. I run, skip, and box as my cardio and I just recently added weight lifting. That’s a whole different story. I haven’t been consistent as I should be but admitting it as a struggle is already a step ahead. Let me share a quick video I shared on my Instagram a few weeks ago.

Do you have any tips or advice how to stay consistent? I would love love love to hear about it. Make sure you let me know by commenting below. Do follow me on Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat. Click on the Menu Button on the very top of this page.

Thanks loves!

xo.

wpid-1434664216090.jpg

Leave a Reply

