Product Review on Cellucor C4

Disclaimer: Hey loves! As promised, this is a product review for Cellucor C4, a pre-workout drink that I started taking about three weeks ago. Before I get started, I want to clarify that what you’re about to read is my personal experience with the product. Please be reminded that side effects may vary from person to another. Make sure to read the labels, directions, and consult your doctor before taking any supplements. This is an honest review and not an attempt to sell the product. No compensation is offered or given to me or this blog. 

Just to put you into perspective, I stand 5″4 and weigh between 122 lbs.- 125 lbs. (this is not easy to admit lol) and workout three times a week, usually at night, on and off. I have decided to take C4 to get me pumped up and energized whenever I workout. They claim to maximize your energy so workouts become more effective. Let’s take a look at some of its ingredients.

20150723_162156

These are two cans of C4, strawberry margarita on the left and fruit punch on the right. They basically have the same ingredients other than 5mg difference of the amount of Calcium in each can. Creatine is the most important ingredient that we should discuss. According to WebMD, without the supplement, Creatine is already found and produced by our body. It is mostly found in our muscles which is involved in the making of energy that our muscles need to work. You can then assume that taking Creatine supplement like C4 can help with muscle growth and increased level of performance in exercises. According to what I’ve read, creatine draws water from the rest of your body to feed into your muscles which will help them grow. The way I see it, using C4 without any kind of strength training or workout, you’re only retaining water weight instead of actually gaining muscles and burning fat. Cellucor C4, just like other supplements, is just a SUPPLEMENT. It’s not a magic drink that will build muscles and make you lose weight without doing the actual work.

The first direction in taking C4 is mixing one scoop of the powder with 4-6oz of water 20-30 minutes before working out. I didn’t follow that at all, instead, I used two scoops of C4 with 8 oz of water for my first try. The mix was too sweet and “powdery” (another lack of a better term). 😦 I finished the drink and 30 minutes after, I was off to the gym. My body’s initial reaction to it was the tingling feeling. I felt it on my toes, my fingers and the back of my neck. So at first, I was too focused and worried about the strange thing that was going on in my body instead of focusing on my workout (which consisted mostly of weight lifting). An hour after my workout, I was so hyper, too hyper for people around me to handle. I didn’t sleep at all. My body was tired but my mind was wide awake. I slept around 5am and woke up at noon the same day.

Days after my first dose of Cellucor C4, I was taking 1 scoop with 6oz. of water. The mix was so much better than the first time. It was just like drinking a regular fruit punch. My workouts went so much better as well. I was able to work through the tingling feeling and actually had a lot of energy. Because I usually workout at night, I still had a hard time sleeping. The tingling feeling was constant. I just learned how to work through it and finish every set.

In addition, I also felt sick the first few days of using Cellucor C4. I was nauseous at times and there were moments when I had to skip my workout and go home. I noticed that if I took C4 without food, that’s when I felt sick and jittery. I also felt light headed during weight lifting. With that said, I only take C4 every other workout. I try not to rely on it for that extra energy, instead, I make sure to have enough sleep and proper nutrition.

For those of you who plan on trying Cellucor C4, make sure that you take minimal dosage to allow your body to adjust. DO NOT take more that what’s recommended. Listen to your body. If you experience more of bad side effects than its benefits, I suggest to stop taking it and try other products.

Thanks loves for reading! I hope this little product review helps. If you have specific questions regarding this product, feel free to comment below and I’ll do my best to find answers for you.

lots of love! ❤

4 thoughts on “Product Review on Cellucor C4

  1. That tingling feeling you are experiencing is due to the beta-alanine – you could investigate other preworkouts that have less in it than the C4 does. But my preworkout has tons in it, and I also have just gotten used to it 🙂 I enjoyed your review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

